The QC LVC Lab focuses on modeling language variation and change. The lab’s main recent focus has been on vocalic variation and change in New York City English.  The lab is directed by Bill Haddican and Michael Newman. This work is supported by NSF Grant Numbers BCS-1630274, BCS-1630377, BCS-1630286, BCS-1629348, and BCS-1152148.  For 2020-2021, the Lab was supported by a QC Research Enhancement Award.

For 2022-2023, the lab is working on two projects.  First, we’re gathering and analyzing data using a web-based app.  If you are a native speaker of New York City English, please consider taking part!  It’s short (~4 minutes), and anonymous–no names, emails or anything like that asked for!  Check it out: https://qclvclab.net/www/experiment.html.  We’re also working on a project with Daniela Castillo looking at how Spanish-English bilinguals use code choice in resolving ambiguity.  And, we’re eating pizza from Gino’s.


  • LCD 205 Language change survey summary (2018 & 2020 data).  Some fun results by recent students: https://qclvclab.shinyapps.io/shiny/
  • The lab is attending NWAV this year!  Looking forward to some great talks.


2022-2023 members: Breanna Aarons, Erine Desir, Idris Emerick, Victoria La Rosa.

2021-2022 members: Erine Desir, Nikki Estrada, Jaslyn Fan, Hannia Godinez, Danielle Kelly, Melanie Rodriguez, Maria Salmeron, Milena Santiago, Nazra Siddiqui and Jiaying Zhou.

2020-2021 members: Suleiny Beltre, Shifali Chambers, Cynthia Gan, Julia Ianculovici, Sheikara Krishnadatt, Joseph Lent, Naying Liu, Hunter Peltonen, Angela Sanchez, Tsu Zhu.

2019-2020 members: Nazija Akter, Carol Berrios, Oksana Borukh, Sabrina Eliano, Alessa Farinella,  Kelvin Ganan,  Ashley Illicete, Emily Liang, Naying Liu, Ariel Persad, Luis Rosario, Kimberly Villalobos, Daniel Yakubov, Tsu Zhu.

2018-2019 members: Carol Berrios, Sabrina Eliano, Alessa Farinella, Marissa Gilbert, Salome Jacques,  Zi Zi Gina Tan, Laura Torres, Daniel Yakubov, Tsu Zhu.

2017-2018 members: Sabrina Lagreca, Zi Zi Gina Tan, Kurt Werber, Rebecca Rich.



Need help with the Commons? Visit our
help page
Send us a message